When is it too late to be a musician?

14drz

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately. I’m 24 and in the last couple of years I realised that music is what I really like and what I would have loved to study academically. I’m a self taught guitarist (not a good one though) and I always wonder if it’s too late for me or I can still think of giving myself a chance to try to do this. What do you think?
Is there a moment when it’s too late to think that you can become a good musician?

Albake21

Ibanez Nerd
Reaction score
I guess when you can't physically play anymore?

You're never too old for making art. Just try not to take it too seriously or expect anything to come from it other than your own personal benefits. Too many musicians get into thinking they will get money, fans, or notoriety out of it.

Just have fun with it.

Perge

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
When you can't physically do it anymore, or you've put yourself in a position where people rely on you and being a musician doesn't cut it. One has to do with age and luck, the other is your priorities and luck.

14drz

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I guess you’re both right. Sometimes we tend to think that we can’t do something anymore just cause we didn’t start it at 14 and we end up not even trying

yan12

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
You are never too old to become a musician. At what level is entirely up to you and your work ethic.

I am a huge music (guitar) fan of all types. I swore to myself when I turned 50 I would start in on Jazz and Classical guitar. I bought a very nice classical guitar when I turned 50. I started playing guitar when I was approx. 20 yrs old. I've been in some cool bands, opened for some big acts, but all in the rock-metal genre.