Superior Drummer/2.0 question

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Scriff1985, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. Scriff1985

    Scriff1985 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Cambridge
    So, i see a lot of threads about presets and such, which has got me curious, as i didn't really know about the in built mixer until just recently when a friend showed me (can you tell i don't tend to read manuals :rolleyes:). I've always since the first Superior drummer just bounced the tracks to Audio and mixed the raw files. Is this a common thing or do most of you just use the presets and not bounce/bounce with it already mixed?
     
  2. Psy-Blade

    Psy-Blade Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Location:
    Coventry
    I never bounce the track down, I prefer to be able to go in and tweak bits when needed. I suppose if you're low on ram or disk IO capabilities its a good practice.

    Anyone, Isn't 'freezing' the track similar in cubase?
     
  3. nine squares

    nine squares SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Sweden
    You can either bounce the files and import them into the project as raw audiofiles, use the built in effects or go "multi out" in your DAW and use your favorite plugins. The last one I believe is the most used here on the forum by users, that way you could also use the built in effects as a complement.

    If you dont know what "multi out" is... Basically you send Superior to separate channels in your recording host (Cubase, PT, Logic, etc) instead of just using a single stereotrack.
     
  4. Scriff1985

    Scriff1985 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ah, so would that be then treating each out as an audio track, but allow you to still tweak it within SD 2? That may save me a lot of time...
     
  5. Kairos

    Kairos Quintessentially So

    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Saylorsburg, PA
    Yeah, you could now edit things from within Superior. But the real advantage is that now you can add your own plugins to any piece of the kit you want. :agreed:
     
  6. Scriff1985

    Scriff1985 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Sweet, pays to ask/read the manual sometimes.
     
  7. Kairos

    Kairos Quintessentially So

    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Saylorsburg, PA
    I never have :D

    Just read the forums, and ask questions.
     
  8. sggod89

    sggod89 yeah I take steriods

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    67
    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Location:
    北京 Beijing
    I bounce each track out separately, then import the audio wavs into my project. Its a huge VST to run in real time, so that's what I do to keep my computer from exploding.
     
  9. S-O

    S-O t(-.-t)

    Messages:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Dayton and Columbus, Ohio
    I prefer to use the multiout, then mix from my DAW.
     
  10. Scriff1985

    Scriff1985 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Cambridge
    I've done a bit of messing about and I'm gunna stick doing it that way, mainly because you cant seem to save track presets for the multiouts in Cubase. :rolleyes:
     
  11. metalfreak85

    metalfreak85 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Jax FL
    It really comes down to your computer. It's kind of nice having a decent computer because I can change anything, anytime I want. The built in effects and eq's make things simple and I can typically balance things on the fly without bouncing/freezing. Back on my old pc I would have to mix everything down then mix to a single stereo track before I could import and record the guitars over the top. It Blew.....Damn you DFH2.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.