Opinions On Mix/Mixing Distorted Guitar W Drum Tracks

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by LuciusBolt, Jun 12, 2019.

1. LuciusBolt

LuciusBolt MS Paint Character.EXE

Hey , I wanted to know your thoughts on some of my mixes that I have done in the past. In terms of tone (muddiness/Clarity) , levels , EQ settings etc.

what can I do in future mixes to make them sound more clearer and more polished as they sound kind of raw.

Now keep in mind I am not a pro at playing or mixing by any stretch of the imagination as I do this stuff for enjoyment/as a hobby I am also aware my playing may be sloppy in places. But I still am practicing to improve that. Despite playing for at least three years which isn't a lot I know but it is still something I guess.

But this is not aimed at technique but more at the levels, EQ and processing side

But I am aware however that having good technique obviously helps create better tone :)

Signal Chain In case anyone is wondering
    Reaper -> Bias Amp VST -> Pitchshifter (Stock Reaper Plugin) -> Two Input USB Interface (Generic) -> Les Paul Copy w Stock Pups

Also while I am here in regards to Reapers stock pitch shifting plugin how do I set the levels (wet, dry) so I get a cleaner sound because I am slightly aware of the mud in the mix from the distorted guitar. As it increases the lower you shift keep in mind I am going from drop D Pitch to what I assume is the equivalent of Drop A#/Bb I guess (could be wrong).

I have tried to EQ the signal to get a cleaner sound using ReaEQ. (not sure if that is the right tool)
    I have also tried changing amp models as well as cabinets in Bias AMP (again not sure if that will fix things)

My settings are in the below picture
    archonsettings.png
    This is not based off the PRS Archon but is built of that 5150 III preset Usually I use that preset with a V30 Based Impulse (built in) or the Treadplate one

Mixes Only 2
    https://soundcloud.com/talonhunt-community/no-omens/s-CPMix