I made an oopsie

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by The Spanish Inquisition, Nov 19, 2018.

1. The Spanish Inquisition

The Spanish Inquisition Unexpected

Recently I ordered a bunch of parts from America (which is a big deal for a European) and my neck finally came in. A lovely piece of wenge. But in my eager ways, I "accidentally" screwed the tuner screws in without pre drilling the holes. Now apparently I've over-tortioned the screw, and the head came off (I am a building noob, didn't know this shit could happen). So there is no way I can screw it in or out any further.

Are there any ways to make this less of an oopsie? How can I fix this myself? I know I can drill the screw out and fill with wood filler, but that is less than aesthetically pleasing. Are there any makeshift solutions to solve this conundrum? Because this shit really bums me out :lol:

2. KR250

KR250 SS.org Regular

Can you get some vice grips on part of the thread stuck and unscrew it that way? Then just a matter of pre-drilling the holes and should be good.

3. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

How much is sticking out? If you have a mm or two you could grab the screw with the chuck from your drill and back it out.

4. spudmunkey

spudmunkey SS.org Regular

It's probably too small for an extractor, so options are limited if it broke nearly flush to the wood.

5. KnightBrolaire

KnightBrolaire Drink Sunny D, pet kitties.

show us pics of the problem, it'd be easier to diagnose then.
    Like others have said, the options are drill it out, or try and remove it with pliers by unscrewing it (depending on how much of the screw is exposed).