How Practical is Running Two Amps?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Discoqueen, Mar 13, 2019.

1. Discoqueen

Discoqueen Dang tootin

hey y’all

The question is right there in the description, but I’ll give some context here. The reason why I am considering running two amps in my rig is because my friend and I are a two piece, he plays drums and I play guitar (obviously lol). Because we are a two piece I feel my tone needs to be as full and massive as possible. I already have two maps (Orange TH30h w 1x12 cab + Rivera Pubster 45 combo).

My concern is that when we start playing out, would that be incredibly excessive? I’ve only played out once before so I have very little experience with working with a venues sound person. I will be getting a aby switch (recommendations would be appreciated?) regardless because once the idea was raised, I feel curious so I have to experiment with it during practice, at least.

Added notes: My pedals include a tuner and I am thinking of adding a booster or overdrive pedal. The orange is a very midrange-heavy sound and goes out a closed-back speaker, and the Rivera is an open back combo that has a very saggy, lower tone. I prefer the sound of the Rivera but can see how the two could compliment each other.

Thanks for reading!

2. budda

budda Guiterrorizer Contributor

People do it all the time. Radial ABY solves any issues.

If you want full, add a reverb pedal. The TC electronic hall of fame mini would do well.

My band runs 2 bi-amp setups. It's fun once it's set up.

3. wakjob

wakjob SS.org Regular

It's definitely my thing.

Run one amp mid heavy low-med gain...pushed cleanish.
    Run the other in full bRoOtAlz mode.
    Adjust each volume to your own tastes.

The Radial 'Bones' ABY is fantastic for the money.

FILTHnFEAR likes this.
  4. budda

It's just fantastic, ground switch and iso switch are key.

wakjob likes this.
  5. Discoqueen

Discoqueen Dang tootin