Guitar cab build

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by J_Mac, Apr 14, 2019.

1. J_Mac

J_Mac SS.org Regular

I can't seem to find any threads about cabs, probably just being thick.

I'm going to build two 1x12" cabs to run my Axe FX in stereo, playing in drop B and 8 string. They need to be compact but as full sounding as possible. Either placed on either side of the room or in a small stack. So I just need help with dimensions and wood choices. I was thinking approximately 20" x 20" x 12" and a combination of cheapo plywood and maple. I priced up the birch plywood but it came in at over £100 for the two cabs. Possibly something like basic plywood for the bottom, back and sides and perhaps a maple top to enhance the brightness. I have a load of maple lying around.

I have no experience with cab building, has anyone got any ideas on this plan?

Cheers :)

2. KR250

KR250 SS.org Regular

Make sure to add a lot of bracing inside the cab to keep a tight sound.

J_Mac likes this.
  3. Defyantly

Defyantly Maybe

You could look up bass subwoofer enclosure builds. There are a ton of them on youtube and check out caraudio.com they should have a build section there. I used to do competition sub setups and i assume there is not much difference in build a guitar cab versus a sub box, but i could be wrong.

J_Mac likes this.
  4. DandHcostoms

DandHcostoms SS.org Regular

I built a 212 cab out of pine and it has pretty good low end on it. For the cab I got dimensions on an orange 212 and used those, could probably do the same for a 112. I wouldnt use standard ply just because of all the voids it typically has, but then again i'm not a cab builder so that's pure speculation.

J_Mac likes this.
  5. Deegatron

Deegatron SS.org Regular

Head over to AX84.com. they had a discussion over there when they designed their 1x12 cabinet. As I recall, the maths were mentally blistering.... but if your into that, prolly a lot of insight to be gained there....