Focusrite Scarlett Solo: Can't get less than 620 samples

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by sezna, Apr 25, 2019.

  1. sezna

    sezna undermotivated

    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    463
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello all,

    I'm trying to record with my Focusrite Solo on Windows 10. I've followed focusrite's guide to preparing my computer for optimal driver performance, but I can't set my ASIO4ALL buffer to below 620 samples without severe artifacting and clicking. I read online that the typical sample rate people run with is 128-256. I have a pretty good processor and my computer itself isn't bogged down by background processes. How can I get my sample rate down? Is it the interface's fault?
     
  2. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

    Messages:
    11,084
    Likes Received:
    1,680
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Yorkshire, U.K
    There shouldn't be a need to use Asio4All with the Focusrite. It should have its own Asio driver. Try that first
     
    Masoo2 likes this.
  3. mpexus

    mpexus SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    204
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yeah dont use the Asio4All, use the proper Focusrite Asio ones. I can go into 32 samples if I'm just using Reaper and VST's as "Amp"
     
  4. sezna

    sezna undermotivated

    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    463
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    It doesn't produce any output at all, and in reaper it says the ASIO driver can't start. I guess I should reinstall it. I'll update here afterwards.
     
  5. mpexus

    mpexus SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    204
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Portugal
  6. sezna

    sezna undermotivated

    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    463
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Update: reinstalled the drivers, used them instead of ASIO4ALL, and the problem was fixed! Barely any latency now, hardly noticeable.
     
    Winspear, mpexus and Joan Maal like this.
  7. Winspear

    Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

    Messages:
    11,084
    Likes Received:
    1,680
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Yorkshire, U.K
    Good news! With that out the way, to give you the general info;
    There isn't really a 'typical' buffer setting, nor do they result in the same latency from system to system.
    How low you can set it comes down exclusively to CPU usage - which is of course affected by project complexity.
    General procedure, track with it set as low as possible (without artifacts) with minimal amp sims+cab sims engaged, minimal reverbs etc and anything else that may be demanding.
    Then crank it up as needed during mixing when latency doesn't matter and the CPU starts to struggle at low buffer.
     
    MerlinTKD likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.