ENGL E530 preamp into Peavey 50/50 Classic power amp

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Descent, Mar 15, 2019.

  1. Descent

    Descent SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hey all,
    I've rack mounted (or rack drawered my pedals) and finally got my Voodoolab GCX and Ground Control rig to switch channels on the E530.
    I am powering with a well preserved Peavey Classic 50/50 tube power amp.
    The Ground control commands the GCX which switches pedal effects in my rack and also switches channels and gain on the E530. It all tested out okay at home, but taking this to rehearsal I am having a horrible amount of "helicopter noise" on high gain settings.

    I am running out of ideas, everything is connected the same. We rehearse in an old building with spotty electricity, so that's a given. I have a power strip feeding this rack. I am starting to think maybe tubes on the preamp are getting microphonic as positioning the whole rig seems to get affected. The power amp is fine, that was used before and didn't exhibit any weirdness.

    There is a noise gate on the input but it doesn't seem to be doing much.
     
  2. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    Have you tried eliminating all the variables for testing ie only running the E530 into the CL50/50? Are the 2 units on top of each other in the rack or are they spaced out? Does it happen at low volume or just at high?
     
    lewis likes this.
  3. lewis

    lewis SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,854
    Likes Received:
    2,184
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    when you say power strip, do you mean a Power conditioner running everything?

    my rehearsal space has DREADFUL electrics and so much of my gear was unusable at loud volumes. The second I got everything powered off a power conditioner, everything cleaned up beautifully. I got the Furman PL Plus CE

    but yeah could also be some crapped out tubes I guess. THats the cheaper option at this point so try a retube of the E530 and then see where you are at?
     
  4. Nicki

    Nicki SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    It's likely the building's electrical. You can take your rig home and plug it into the mains to see if you get the same thing. If you do, it's your rig, if not, likely the building's electrical. A power conditioner will improve the situation greatly.
     
    budda likes this.
  5. Descent

    Descent SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Tested out at home at similar volume levels thru a different speaker and it was perfectly fine, was absolutely diggin' how beautiful everything sounded and dreams of rock stardom were floating about :)

    I isolated the preamp and poweramp in one loop (super easy with Voodoolabs GCX as it patches these two) and yeah, the nastiness is there. I had that preamp in there by itself before into a Windsor head and it was doing the same noise thing. I will have to try one of the other outlets just to rule that out.

    Unfortunately in this rack I had no room for power conditioner so I had to take it out, so I need to figure out a floor solution or something. I do have the power conditioner out of the rack but will take it to next practice just to rule out.

    Any floor standing power conditioners you'd recommend?

    Funny thing is that this studio is close to a Mexican radio station so as soon as you turn on the distortion it starts playing Tejano :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2019
    lewis likes this.
  6. budda

    budda Guiterrorizer Contributor

    Messages:
    23,305
    Likes Received:
    3,410
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    London ONT
    Furman makes a power conditioning power bar. Not as fancy as some of their rack options but it will likely help.
     
    lewis likes this.
  7. Descent

    Descent SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Forgot to mention the preamp and power amp are 4 spaces apart. Honestly the E530 has been super quiet at home and the power amp has been super quiet everywhere :)
     
    lewis likes this.
  8. RoboKopp

    RoboKopp SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Location:
    Minneapolis MN
    Try playing with the positioning of the brick power supply of the GCX. Back when I had my Rocktron Patchmate I had all kinds of noise issues until I started moving around it's power brick. It's been awhile but the best position with the least amount of noise seemed to when the brick was mounted to the top of my case above the patchmate. IMG_42481.jpg
     
  9. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    Check out the Tripp Lite Isobar. They have 2,4,6 outlet floor configs I believe. Better built than the Furman floor strip and similar price if I remember correctly. I use Tripp Lite, my drummer uses the Furmans.
     
  10. Descent

    Descent SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Thanks guys!

    I don't have access until this weekend but I'll take my Juice Goose power conditioner and will try moving the power strip around. That's super annoying...last time I had this issue was with a DD3 running off of non-dedicated power supply, but it was noisy everywhere. I have the DD3 in the chain now so maybe I'll troubleshoot that as well. The demoralizing fact is that everything worked beautiful at home.
     
  11. Descent

    Descent SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Apparently the singer got smashed last night and he can't get his lazy ass to practice. I decided not to bother as well.

    Will post tests next week :)
     
    lewis likes this.
  12. Descent

    Descent SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Tried plugs on different sides of the room, tried it with and without the power conditioner, all that noise is still there.

    Removed all effects from the chain, disconnected their power, so went direct preamp-poweramp, same thing.

    It's awful...drummer mentioned other guys had similar noise issues in that room. Unfortunately not much can be done about it, besides me brinding back my GT-10 in 4 cable method and employing 2 noise gates wrapped around the E530 preamp, but I'll lose my switching.
     
  13. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    Who do you rent the room from? Have them get the circuit looked at by an electrician so it can be usable.
     
    GunpointMetal likes this.
  14. GunpointMetal

    GunpointMetal SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,136
    Likes Received:
    738
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    This! if this is a dedicated rehearsal space, they need to fix that shit. I don't know about Houston, but we pay $350 a month for a small room to jam in, if the power wasn't up to function I'd be in our landlords ear till he fixed it.
     
    lewis likes this.
  15. LiveOVErdrive

    LiveOVErdrive CNC hack

    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    1,674
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Might just be that radio station. Or, maybe more likely, the earth ground on the outlets aren't hooked up. That can make amps REALLY noisy.

    Side note and Maybe a can of worms: do power conditioners seriously do ANYTHING at all? I mean, a tube amp's power supply is a really really big low pass filter - I wouldn't think mains noise would do anything at all, unless there's a ton of noise or current on the ground or something weird. Seems like snake oil to me.
     
  16. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    Most power conditioners are glorified plug strips with a few varistors installed. Some do have an adequate EMI/RFI Filter and enough capacitance to regulate voltage within reason.
     
    LiveOVErdrive likes this.
  17. LiveOVErdrive

    LiveOVErdrive CNC hack

    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    1,674
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    So it's mostly about avoiding over and undervoltaging your supplies? Interesting.
     
  18. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    I’d say it’s mostly marketing, with the bare minimum added to advertise them as they do. And yeah, it’s mostly intended to provide limited protection from a surge.
     
  19. lewis

    lewis SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    5,854
    Likes Received:
    2,184
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Anyone writing off power conditioners are ignorant.
    I had dreadful Kemper noise from both my old house AND my bands dedicated space. Had the same thing with my Hd pro before it.

    Bought a Furman Ce plus power conditioner and in an instant ALL noise/hum/buzz in both locations, was instantly illiminated. Trying to record with the kemper before i got it was a nightmare. Ive had perfectly noiseless guitar signal ever since.

    So clearly, they do work and help take shit noisy power, clean it up/filter it, then use clean power to run your devices.
     
  20. LiveOVErdrive

    LiveOVErdrive CNC hack

    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    1,674
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Interesting. It's worth noting here though that a Kemper likely has some kind of switch mode power supply, which iirc is more sensitive to mains noise versus a tube amp's typical bigass-transformer-and-big-lpf supply.

    But I might be talking out of my ass. It's been a while since power systems class.
     
    lewis likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.