Which affordable interface to record with amp mic'd?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Unleash The Fury, Oct 7, 2017.

1. Unleash The Fury

Unleash The Fury SS.org Regular

my primary goal (for now) is to record my ideas onto my computer. i want to mic up my amps for now without getting involved with DI boxes (yet). im currently making some noobish drum tracks using the MT power kit. i just started learning how to do midi drums and i know i have a looong road ahead of me.

but i can make some basic tracks and thats all i want to do. im not looking to make my own album (at this point). i just want these basic song ideas for myself or perhaps to send to a prospecting band mate.

so in order to do all of this i do need an interface, correct? (because what would the mic plug into otherwise)

I dont need or want the best one out there. i know i hear the scarlett 2i2 or 2i4's are good.....i was hoping to not spend $200 on one since its not real serious, its mainly for ideas. also im buying a mic like an sm57 or like that. so im not looking to spend a ton of money since im just recording my ideas. The double edged sword is that i dont one that completley sucks either!

so what could you reccomend for my need? thank you!

2. will_shred

will_shred not that good.

I prefer the senheiser e906 to the 57, they sound pretty similar but the 906 doesn't seem to have the harsh top end that the 57 does IMO.

3. Lemonbaby

Lemonbaby SS.org Regular

Don't worry too much about the mic, the SM57 is perfectly fine. Moving the mic 50mm in any direction can change the guitar sound a lot more than any differences between microphones.

I've been using a Focusrite USB-Interface for several years and can highly recommend it. Their drivers never crashed (Win7/Win10) and are updated regularly - something that's not done at some other companies.

4. lemeker

lemeker SS.org Slacker

Get yourself a sm57 and the Scarlett solo.