Toss up....Ibanez SR300E or Squire Vintage Mod '70

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by WarMachine, May 24, 2018.

1. WarMachine

WarMachine SS.org Regular

So i'm looking to pick up a new bass on the cheap but that sounds good on metal recordings. I'm a lead guitarist so bass isn't my main instrument, but i know how to play it; how to make it sit in the mix, what it contributes etc. And i've narrowed it down to 2 choices; the Ibanez SR300E or Squire Vintage Modified 70. Of the 2, which one is better suited for metal playing? Which has a smoother/and or more narrow neck?

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

The Squire is going to sound better out of the box. Those VMs are damn solid.

The necks are going to be surprisingly similar. The SR will be a little thinner and flatter, but the widths aren't very different.

The SR will be lighter if that matters.

Do you need 24 frets?

3. WarMachine

Thanks for the quick reply dude! 24 frets aren't a must, i can live with 19-21.

Also weight isn't a problem, i'm getting this for home recording as it is, i wouldn't mind if either weighed like 20 lbs lol

4. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent

I hate to be that guy but there's not really a thing that makes a bass "good for metal", unless you potentially count scale length if you're down-tuning very far. IMO try them both (through an amp or something) and go with the one that plays and sounds better to you. Otherwise, I agree with Max -> the Squire will probably sound better (to my taste at least), but the SR might play easier if you're coming from a guitar-playing background.

5. WarMachine