Tips for playing an 8 string?

Discussion in 'Extended Range Guitars' started by Kensei7, May 31, 2018.

1. Kensei7

Kensei7 SS.org Regular

So im looking to get back into playing after a 2 year break. Ive owned a few 8s in the past and my current favorite bands play 8s. My problem is I write better on 6s and they are just easier to play cuz I have smaller hands. I mainly wrote Thrash on my 6s but whenever I would pick up my 8 I could never find a decent way to utilize the 7th and 8th strings without doing chugga chug. Traversing the fretboard was difficult sometimes and the 8th string would ring constantly without me touching it when I was using the other strings. I know this is somewhat a dumb question but does anyone have any tips for overcoming these types of things? I should probably mention im a self taught player on and off for the last 9 or so years.

2. Wolfos

Wolfos Guitarded

#1 You could potentially look at different 8 string neck profiles from different builders and see which one has the smallest neck.

#2 You could find a long scale 7 string 27" or greater and tune it down closer to 8 string territory.

#3 Look into the Line 6 shuriken + pedal. The possibilities are nearly endless. You can have any amount of fabricated tunings at your footpedals disposal so one second your in E standard 6 string tuning, the next you in Double drop A or something similarly crazy. Yes it's an emulation, but a damn good one.

3. Kensei7

Kensei7 SS.org Regular

I owned all Agiles. They offer the cheapest quality 8s in different finishes. I was going to pull the trigger on another once they put up more fanned fret models.

4. stinkoman

stinkoman SS.org Regular

I like wolfos suggestion of trying different makers. I owned a few and finally found one I really clicked with. My current one is an ltd sc-608b and for me personally was easier to play than some 7s. I also had an agile 7 that string was 27 inch scale like my 8s, but because of its neck was harder to play.