The usual noob req:bridge pu for 7620( da7 today only)

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by mrvomit, Aug 6, 2018.

1. mrvomit

mrvomit SS.org Regular

Hallo ,need a little of avice .
    I 've purchased an Illuminator neck for my 7620 stock ( good deal about 68€) .I was gonna buy the bridge but someone snapped before me.
    On a second thought , though i always digged neck "petrucci Style " sounds , never liked so much bridge tones
    I'm actually a bassist , and use guitar to record /compose ,cant really do super shred stuff ,just some sweeps , and using riffs a bit older school /eu style , though trying to merge with new styles. That said :
    Taking in acount versatilty , what you would suggest to pair the Illu 7 neck with?

ALways REALLY liked Seymour duncan bridges sounds but completely ignorant about models,
    and it in doubt to pair 2 dfferent brands

- Dimarzio side:i found a pretty good deal on a d-sonic 7 ( about 65€) ,dunno about versatilty, just a did read about problems of HUM electrical noises and i use guitar in front of desktop.I wonder if its more than stock pickups , which are actually ok in that sense.

Then , i could purchase ( TODAY ONLY)a d-activator 7 for 98€ in a mixed order :
    i always thought it was aimed just to extreme kinds and i did read about his shrilly highs from some users here , i'm aiming at versatility
    Some idea i did not think about?TRyng not to spend tons of coins , but it should be my only guitar on my endless bass arsenal so i can bend a bit..LOL

2. Turgon

Turgon SS.org Regular

I had an RG7621 with D-Activator and later Seymour Duncan Distortion SH-6 in the bridge. Can't say anything negative about either of them. Mixing 2 brands is absolutely no problem, just mixing active and passive is a bit tricky though.