The Impulse FAQ/Tutorial Thread

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by FourFour, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. LeviathanKiller

    LeviathanKiller Knee-shooting Archer

    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    66
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    In that shadow over there -->
  2. fob

    fob SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    THANKS SO MUCH! I finally got it working. Such a simple step but I totally missed it.
     
    LeviathanKiller likes this.
  3. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    861
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    Basically, think of this as a speaker cable to your cab. It's going to take the recorded sound that you want to hear and put it thru and the IR acts as a cabinet/speaker/mic combination. If you've used amp and cab combinations and mic'd them up, this does the same thing. It's a recorded sample/digital snapshot of what THAT cab and THAT mic and THAT placement sounded like right then.

    Lot of guys use V30s/SM57s, and there are a ton of IRs featuring that.

    One IR loader isn't really any better than the other, it's just preference. DL some IRs, there are a ton of free ones all over the place. Most of the big names will kick freebies on their websites....Celestion does, Ownhammer does, there's lots more.

    Grab some, and put them in a folder on your desktop or whatever. The pic above of that Rosen loader? The folder icon next to the blank space is how you tell it to look. Load it up in your DAW (make sure it's AFTER the amp sim) click that, direct it to the folder where your IRs are and it'll load up a list of what's in the folder. Choose one, make sure your record monitoring is on, rock out.

    Any other hardships post in here, we'll get you going.

    EDIT: derp, you posted it while I was typing that. Glad you got it working, man. Chuck a clip, and don't forget other sims. Check out Mercuriall's free stuff and free trials. Their U530 sim kicks all ass for metal tones.
     
  4. fob

    fob SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Nice comparison to the speaker cable! That makes sense.

    I always have questions!

    What is the purpose of some of these IR loaders having multiple folders? Lecab I think has 6 you can open, while pulse has 2. Is that to load and compare each one easily instead of one at a time? Or can you simultaneously run them together and mix the cab sims? As far as the amp sim, and I think IR loader but I'm not super familiar with it yet, what is the difference between running it as mono or stereo, or as I've seen in some, dual mono, which I don't remember seeing before.

    When tracking also, is there a way to load the amp sim/cab sim and hear them while live playing, or is it only in playback when they become active?

    Thank all of you so much. :)
     
  5. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    861
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    Yes to both of these. Say you want an SM57 on one and a 609 on another, you can blend them.

    No, you just need to arm the track for recording and then make sure your monitoring is active. I'm not familiar with Logic as I'm a Reaper user, but you should be able to find what you need as far as live monitoring goes with a google image search for the right button. Can totally hear it as you use it.
     
  6. piggins411

    piggins411 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    95
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Can anyone offer some guidance? I'm trying to use impulses for the first time, and I'm having some trouble. I'm going direct and using the LePou plugins with LeCab in Reaper and I'm not quite getting it. Every tutorial I see has a step before they add the IR and the tone sounds really fuzzy and bad. However, when I load one of the LePou amp, say the Engl one, for example, I still get a clean tone. It's a bit louder, but no amount of tweaking makes it much better. I can't seem to get a good distorted tone. Even putting it on the highest gain channel it still sounds pretty pathetic.
     
    steinmetzify likes this.
  7. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    861
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    If you can, post a pic of your setup and maybe a clip.....usually this is something simple. Monitor knob up too high, track not armed etc...throw up a visual and we can help.
     
  8. fob

    fob SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    So I am thinking of going from free IR loaders to MixIR 2. Is this worth it? I have seen people say it sounds a little more realistic and aggressive. It also uses less CPU so that's helpful.
     
  9. fob

    fob SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Also adding to my question... Is the new Heavy Hitters collection from Ownhammer worth getting?
     

Share This Page