Steel Panther's Satchel patch removed due to petition against name

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by ImNotAhab, Jul 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ImNotAhab

ImNotAhab ChronicUnderachiever

From UG:
    A petition was launched by a female guitarist called Jessica Fennelly to have Steel Panther guitarist Satchel's new TC Electronic pedal called "Pussy Melter" taken down.

Jessica said in the description:
    "As a Female Guitarist, I'm shocked by the poor marketing decisions found on TC Electronics website for their signature sound from 'Satchel' offensively named the 'Pussy Melter.' There is an entire page dedicated to this sound."

The post continues to quote the device's official description, which reads:

"Wanna make a physical impact on your audiences, with an epic delay tone? Then Satchel's got you covered! When we met up with Steel Panther's oh-so-humble guitarist, he had only one condition: that the tone be as wet as the ladies on the front row!
    "With 'Pussy Melter' that’s exactly what you get: a delay tone, which perfectly nails that heavy metal lead tone, whilst simultaneously ensuring that the janitor ain't going home early! So if glam rock guitar solos and wet floor signs are your idea of a good time, then 'Pussy Melter' for Flashback Delay is definitely the TonePrint for you!"

Jessica argued the following:
    "Not only is this description extremely vulgar and unnecessary, but TC Electronic went out of their way to actually pay someone to write a marketing description for this.
    "I can't imagine why a well-known company such as TC Electronic would feel that it's OK to use such an offensive, obviously sexist, and outdated marketing technique to sell a product. In addition, why would they choose to support an artist such as Satchel.
    "This TC Electronic product promotes and implies the ideas that: