Silent recording system with a real tube amp

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by NightCrow, Feb 10, 2019.

  1. NightCrow

    NightCrow SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Hi guys,
    I'm Ben from Hungary. I'd like to ask your advice in an urgent matter.
    I've a very good tube amp head (50w with EL34 tubes, brand is KAOS) with 2x12 cab, it sounds awesome. But I moved to a new place and the neighbors are complaining about the "loud noise".
    I started diging in the net and I found 2 things, and I think they can be the solutions for my problem.
    The Universal Audio OX Amp top Box and the Two Notes Torpedo C.A.B.
    My question is: which is better for me if I want to use my KAOS head too?
    My imaginary line would be: Guitar -> Pedals -> KAOS amp -> OX or CAB -> Line out
    Can I make this with these elements, or I didn't get that precisely how they work? Which has more modern sounding cabs? I play progressive metal mostly.
    Really big thanks for your helps and hints! And sorry for my grammar! :)

    Cheers,
    Ben
     
  2. stevexc

    stevexc SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,138
    Likes Received:
    608
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    If I'm not mistaken you'd need a load box in order to run your tube head silently, which the C.A.B. isn't. So of those two choices the OX would be the only option.
     
  3. xzyryabx

    xzyryabx SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    110
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    This is my playing setup:
    Tube amp => Torepdo Live => Studio monitors

    This is my recording setup:
    Tube amp => Torpedo Live => interface => DAW => monitors/headphones

    With both I can set the volume as low/high as I want all while cranking the amps channel/main volumes to get that power amp working.
     
  4. Catalyst Collide

    Catalyst Collide SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Location:
    Boston
    Look at the Fryette Power Station 2 as well, great unit, super high quality. Cheaper than both the OX or Torpedo (also great units).
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff Banned from Reality

    Messages:
    4,546
    Likes Received:
    439
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    The Suhr Reactive Load IR is going to be cheaper than any of them, and have the best load. That's what I'd go for.
     
  6. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    942
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    Suhr Reactive, Fryette Power Load, and Rivera Mini RockRec will all do exactly what you need. You can download Two Notes Wall of Sound plugin free; and either buy a few cabs from them, or load third party IR’s
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff Banned from Reality

    Messages:
    4,546
    Likes Received:
    439
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    They're not all created equal though. The Suhr and the Fryette have better loads than the Rivera does.
     
  8. Chrisesp

    Chrisesp SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Dunedin, NZ
    I own a Suhr Reactive load. Love it.
     
    InCasinoOut likes this.
  9. Nitrobattery

    Nitrobattery SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Location:
    Central NY
    Another vote for the Suhr RL
     
  10. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    23,599
    Likes Received:
    5,411
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    When it comes out, it looks like the Suhr Reactive Load IR will be the cheapest option.

    Another option would be the Torpedo Captor with any IR loader.
     
  11. McBrain

    McBrain SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    117
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    Denmark
    NightCrow likes this.
  12. NightCrow

    NightCrow SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    OK, how I see it, the Suhr RL is the winner here. :D
    Thanks for the help!
    Just one question: If I can't use the Two Notes Torpedo CAB with real amp then what is the right way to use it? I didn't understand why is it good as a CAB simulator...
    And how I find it on the thomann website: there are two Suhr RL: the normal Reactive Load and Reactive Load IR. Which one is better for my goals? :)
    Ohh, and my price-range maximum is 1200 € which is ca. 1360 $. If in this range you know better solution then I'm open for it. :D
     
  13. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    23,599
    Likes Received:
    5,411
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    The Torpedo CAB is meant to be used with preamps. If you plug your amp into it, it'll burn it. Which is why you need a loadbox betweeen the two like the Torpedo Captor or the Suhr Reactive Load.

    Also you want the Suhr Reactive Load IR. It has the on-board cabinet sims. The Reactive Load is just the loadbox.

    The Boss Waza deal above also seems to be one of the best options, since it seems to be able to do everything.
     
    I play music and NightCrow like this.
  14. NightCrow

    NightCrow SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Thanks guys, you helped me a lot! :D Really thank you! :)
     
  15. I play music

    I play music SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    360
    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    It is already out since January.
     
  16. rexbinary

    rexbinary MOD King

    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    311
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    My next purchase for silent recording with my 5153 50w EL34 is a Two-Notes Torpedo Captor. It's a Load Box, Direct Box, Attenuator, and Speaker Simulator all in one box for $250.
     
  17. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    23,599
    Likes Received:
    5,411
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Yeah the Captor does have an on-board cab sim. Forgot to mention that. It's analog like the old Palmer units, but not as tweakable.
     
  18. bubucci

    bubucci SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    VK
    Is possible to use Captor without cab ? For really silent recording ?
     
  19. Andromalia

    Andromalia Pardon my french

    Messages:
    7,419
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Yes. Make sure you purchase the right one with the proper ohms for your amp output, as they're not universal. (There's an 8 ohms model and a 16 ohms model)
     
  20. JesperX

    JesperX SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    The Captor is awesome, I use one with my 6505+ head (sold my cab, actually). Grab some good IRs and go to town.
     

Share This Page