questions about a PSN account for a PS4

Discussion in 'Computers, Electronics, IT & Gaming' started by Santuzzo, Feb 3, 2018.

1. Santuzzo

Santuzzo SS.org Regular

I'm a PS4 noob, so please bear with me and my question(s): I just opened a PSN account, before I was just playing without one, using a user account on my PS4, but now since I opened a PSN account my PS4 user account got replaced by my PSN account. I realize that in order to play games online I need to buy a subscription which I don't want to do. What would be the benefit of me having a PSN account if I don't intend to play online at all? And can I close that PSN account and get my offline PS4 user account back that I had on my PS4?

Thanks in advance,
    Lars

2. Carrion Rocket

Carrion Rocket Registered Lurker

Short answer: No. Once you create a PSN account it exists for ever.

You only need PS+ for online multiplayer, but if you plan to use streaming services or purchase games, DLC, videos, etc then you'll need an account.

Santuzzo likes this.
  3. Santuzzo

Santuzzo SS.org Regular

Thanks!
    I only created the PSN account as some of my games came with codes for bonus content that could only be redeemed through a PSN account.
    I realize the PSN account as such can't be deleted, but can I delete it from my PS4 and get back to my previous 'offline' PS4 user account?
    I guess if all fails I could always do a factory reset on my PS4?

4. Carrion Rocket

You can delete the account from the system, but I believe you'll lose access to that downloaded content as well as it's registered/tied to the account it was downloaded with. And if the PSN account overwrote the original account then you could just deactivate the system from the account. Otherwise I believe you'd just have to make a whole new offline only account on the system.

Santuzzo likes this.
  5. Santuzzo

Santuzzo SS.org Regular

Thanks again!