Pickup suggestions for Maple neck/swamp ash body

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by metal_sam14, Sep 4, 2014.

1. metal_sam14

metal_sam14 Midget

Howdy folks, I am looking for some advice/opinions on what works best with the wood combo mentioned in the title. I just got my hands on a Chapman ML7-T which has a big swamp ash body and a maple neck w/ ebony fretboard. So far Nick from the axe palace has suggested a set of BKP warpigs or holy divers. Just to make sure I have all the options, does anyone else have anything they would recommend? I was considering an SD Pegasus/Sentient set based on the descriptions (I play in a fairly versatile prog metal band).

2. AgileButt

AgileButt SS.org Regular

Are there any specific tones that you're going for?

3. Kullerbytta

Kullerbytta Newborn

I've no experience with the Warpigs but when I wanted to upgrade the bridge humbucker in my swamp ash/maple/maple American Standard Strat I was recommended either the Holy Diver or the Warpig by Tim (o'er at BKP).

I opted for the Holy Diver because I figured less DC=less gain=more clarity= (Y)
    Truth is, I don't know jack turd about DC resistances and all that stuff, and even so the Warpigs are renowned for their clarity despite being a very high-gain pickup so I think I'd be very happy with a set of those as well. I did, however, go with the Holy Divers in a very bright guitar and it does sound phenomenal. The Diamonbucker I had in my Strat before sounded so... Artificial and "model amplifier-y" no matter what I played it through.
    Since I had my HD installed though it sounds really organic, alive and... Non-model-y.

I can't tell you which would be better since I have no experience with the Pig... But I think you can rest assured that he recommendation for the Holy Diver is a good call.

You could go for the Cold Sweat bridge and have the brightest tone known to man :evil:

Prude likes this.
  4. chopeth

chopeth SS.org Regular

5. SkullCrusher