Need help with wiring EMG's

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by sgsummers, Apr 15, 2013.

1. sgsummers

sgsummers SS.org Regular

Hello all,

I just installed an emg 81 and 85 into my 2008 hellraiser C1. I bought a 5 way switch to go along with it but I am unsure about how to connect the 5 way switch. Any help? Or an easy to read diagram? These are the quick connect set as well.

EDIT: just figured out that I cant use a 5 way toggle switch I guess? Im new at this... lol Anyway does anyone know if guitar center sell EMG solderless 3 way toggle switches in store? I would hate to have to order one and wait another week.

EDIT #2: So , it seems I can use a 5 way with with 2 EMG's and positions 2 and 4 will be dead. I am fine with this. Is there a diagram I can use for this?

2. Krigsmjod

Krigsmjod Luddite

Are you using solderless pots and all the new fancy EMG stuff?

3. yingmin

yingmin Parker über alles

4. sgsummers

sgsummers SS.org Regular

Yep the quick connect is the new fancy solderless stuff. Pretty awesome. I have the wiring diagrams that it came with. It came with some great instructions. And thank you for linking me to the wiring guides but I dont know what to search for. I dont see anything that shows how to wire a 5 way switch as a 3 way switch... with having positions two and four as dead spots. Probably an uncommon request.

And I have everything installed except for the toggle switch and battery. Battery is easy but Im going to wire it differently since I like my old battery box. The new stuff didnt have a battery box just a connect for a battery so I am going to link the wires with caps. So I am just stuck on this toggle switch issue.

5. Sephael

Sephael Divine Paradøx Contributor

you can use the 5 way, you just have to solder to the switch and then use the clamps on the end of the buss board that came with the EMGs.