NAD: My First Tube Amp - 5150 II

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Frostbite, Dec 7, 2017.

1. Frostbite

Frostbite Periphery Shill

I've been playing guitar for nearly a decade and never owned a tube amp or any amp that I would really consider "good". I've used the same distortion pedal through a Fender Frontman 25r and then a Blackstar HT-1 head and combo to get my tone so my tone has remain mostly unchanged since I started playing guitar. I've been looking for a 7 string and decided to check Manchester Music Mill in New Hampshire to see what they had. I grabbed a guitar and one of the employees mentioned they had a new amp room and asked me if I wanted to hook up to a 5150 II. Why yes, I'd love that. Playing the 7 string I realized that I loved the sound of this amp. It's in amazing condition. I keep staring at it like "Wow, this is great sounding". Then I checked the price. 500 bucks. At first I thought "Wow that's a great price" but I wasn't looking for a amp so it didn't cross my mind to buy it. I texted my buddy telling him that they had a 5150 for that price. I left MMM and went back to my buddies place who I was hanging out with and I just kept thinking about the 5150. I ended up driving the 30 minutes back to MMM and bought it. I don't play live so it's slightly impractical but I plan on buying a torpedo captor to be able to use it to record and play at sane levels since this thing KICKS. I'm playing it through a 1x12 ATM though so I'm looking for a 2x12 since that seems like a good balance been a 1x12 which doesn't really do the amp justice and a 4x12 which is ridiculous for my needs. Looking at an Orange PPC212 or the Misha Invective 2x12 (if it ever actually comes out)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. steinmetzify

steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

Damn good amp for your first tube amp man. Good score!

3. Frostbite

Exactly why I bought it haha. Price was way too good to pass up

4. Jacksonluvr636

Jacksonluvr636 SS.org Regular

So it begins.