Musicians who never learn how to restring/setup their instruments?

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by lewis, Sep 2, 2017.

1. lewis

lewis SS.org Regular

so Ive thought about this plenty over the years.

I started playing guitar at 17 and being doing it now just over 10 years. Within the first 1-2 years I decided I had enough of relying on shops etc to restring/setup my instruments and taught myself. Been doing it ever since etc as I imagine the majority do?.

However I know people, who Ive toured with in the past in previous bands etc, who despite achieving all that and who are excellent excellent players, never taught themselves or learnt etc. They have the mentality of like "woah its quite involved. I dont want to screw anything up. Better let the experts do it"

Does anyone find this a tad ridiculous?. Especially if you have been a player for like 10years +
    The idea of being so reliant on others in this way must be so frustrating.
    "I cant play my bass for the next 3 days whilst I wait for my mate david to come over and put the strings on for me"?

EDIT:
    Will add to that the same mentality was also present in anything. Setting up a rig/plugging in cables seemed to big a deal for them to try and anything like a pickup change or hardware change was obviously too intimidating to try.

2. silverabyss

silverabyss _(:3 」∠)_ Contributor

There's a lot of factors here at play and what might seem dead nuts easy to you might not seem so to everyone. There's a lot on a guitar that takes time and practice to understand, especially the electric bits

lewis likes this.
  3. SD83

SD83 SS.org Regular