How Do I make my guitar signal louder? (Basic questions in Reaper)

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by AxiomXIII, Sep 10, 2017.

1. AxiomXIII

AxiomXIII SS.org Regular

I want to get into recording and want to start Out by doing some guitar covers with a backing track.
    When moving the Backing track to Reaper I notice that its extremely loud compared to my guitar Signal which I keep between -6 and -12ish dB.
    The songs loudness obv comes from it being mastered etc but other guys on YouTube have the same Volume in their guitar covers.

To get things even I have to lower the backing tracks volume to Like -11dB and Boost my guitar to +2.5 to have it sound okay without getting a red bar.

My Question is how to get my guitar Signal louder without clipping etc.
    Im using a POD HD500X directly into my PC and I have my Patches Set Up so they are at -6 to -12 dB max.

I'm a total noob at this since im starting Out so bare with me.
    For more details on my settings or gear in this Situation feel free to ask.
    More Tips are appreciated as well.
    Thanks!

2. schwiz

schwiz Lefty

3. Drew

Drew Forum MVP

One BIG thing to keep in mind here... The backing track you're playing along with is a full mix, with a lot of different instruments covering a wide range of frequencies, and has almost certainly already been mastered to CD level. That one track on its own, when imported to a DAW, is going to already be peaking just about -0db. If you add ANYTHING to the mix, it's going to clip at the master.