Fortin Nameless Plugin from NeuralDSP

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by narad, Aug 24, 2018.

  1. KnightBrolaire

    KnightBrolaire grossly incandescent

    Messages:
    8,335
    Likes Received:
    5,354
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    it happened to me the first time I tried installing it. uninstall and reinstall worked for me
     
  2. Tree

    Tree Bald Bear

    Messages:
    1,929
    Likes Received:
    208
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Okay I’ll have to give that a shot. Did you uninstall the plugin too, or just the license manager?
     
  3. KnightBrolaire

    KnightBrolaire grossly incandescent

    Messages:
    8,335
    Likes Received:
    5,354
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    just the plugin and all the stuff from the .exe, you don't need to uninstall ilok
     
  4. Tree

    Tree Bald Bear

    Messages:
    1,929
    Likes Received:
    208
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    For sure. Thanks, homie!
     
  5. Flappydoodle

    Flappydoodle SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    I think that's how the real amp actually sounds. Found this cool play through on YouTube



    The plugin is really spot on IMO. All the characteristics are there.
     
    KnightBrolaire likes this.
  6. KnightBrolaire

    KnightBrolaire grossly incandescent

    Messages:
    8,335
    Likes Received:
    5,354
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    yeah, it reminds me a lot of my mk3 a lot (which I'd swear is based off the hot rodded marshall tone). Both are pretty bright/midrangey with great chuggy low end
     
  7. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands greg rulz ok

    Messages:
    22,517
    Likes Received:
    3,996
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
  8. hYpYz

    hYpYz SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Location:
    UK, Leeds
    anyone had issues getting the demo to be visible in the vst list ?
    I have other plugins like reaxis working fine.
    The parth to the dll i have chosed is the one in program files/ common files under avid
    I am using Reaper. and I lok is installed turned on and license is activated.
    I tried with 32 and 64 bit versions. Tried reinstalling the plug in.
    Tried rescanning adding both versions path and it just doesnt show up in the list.
    Am i missing something ?
     
  9. Kaura

    Kaura Spicy meme enthusiast

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Location:
    Eastern Finland
    First when I installed the full version, I put the .dll file inside its own folder I made for it under the general vst folder and couldn't see it in the plugin list in Cubase. Then I just slapped it in the general vst folder and it came visible.
     
  10. Breeding The Spawn

    Breeding The Spawn SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Oceanside, California
    The plugin only became visible after I activated it in ilok license manager. I didn't have to put .dll file any where. It popped up on Reaper right away. Btw, the plugin is really sick, took no longer than a few minutes to find a really good tone.
     
    BlasphemyMadeFlesh likes this.
  11. Flappydoodle

    Flappydoodle SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Are you on Mac?

    If so, there are two audio plugin files. One is in the "library" folder of your root. Library, audio, plugins.

    The other is under your user folder, library, audio, plugins

    The installer by default put it into the wrong one. Just cut and paste into the correct folder.
     
  12. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    5,028
    Likes Received:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    Interesting. Lasse is usually my boy for tones but I like Jason’s vid/tones a lot more here. Thanks for posting this mang
     
  13. Flappydoodle

    Flappydoodle SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Doesn't really sound "right" with his own impulses I think. His tone sounds noticeably different from other demos (and my own experimentation) using in the built-in cab sims
     
  14. Flappydoodle

    Flappydoodle SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Also, I have to say, this thing sounds fucking incredible on my 7 string Eclipse with an EMG 57 in the bridge. It's a very fat-sounding guitar, so it goes well with this ultra-tight, high attack amp that has tons of note definition and treble frequencies.

    MY main guitar (Caparison Brocken baritone) doesn't sound anywhere near as good with this sim. Far too thin and brittle unless you disable the grind, turn the presence to 0 etc, which kinda defeats the point of this plugin. That guitar has lower output passive pickups, it's baritone (so brighter), and generally has much more note definition and clarity. With this amp sim, it's just way too much.
     
  15. axxessdenied

    axxessdenied :: 2077 ::

    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    566
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BnvIsS1nTUi/?taken-by=axxessdenied just a quick video I did playing along to Jinjer. What's incredible about the fortin vst is that it DOES NOT make you feel like you're using a plugin at all when you jam along with an actual song. I think that was one of the things that really stood out to me when I used other VSTs to jam to songs on youtube for example. The fortin just sounds and reacts so well!
     
    Wojtas_guitar1 likes this.
  16. axxessdenied

    axxessdenied :: 2077 ::

    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    566
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    [​IMG]
    getting some T H I C C tones with this setting lol
     
  17. Wojtas_guitar1

    Wojtas_guitar1 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Guys, this plugin is really worth it. It is very easy to use and easy to get solid tones. There is not much difference between Fortin and fractal. Download the demo version and check it by yourself !
    Check my demo:
     
    mikah912 and axxessdenied like this.
  18. axxessdenied

    axxessdenied :: 2077 ::

    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    566
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  19. Paul McAleer

    Paul McAleer newborn baby

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Gave the demo version a try just now.

    Initial thoughts are that the Grind pedal sim sounds/feels overkill for the Amp sim. It already feels nice and clanky?? on its own when adjusting GAIN I/II knobs with the MVC pull gain out.

    This could be justifiable if you don't already have an arsenal of VSTs or rack gear. It's just very plug n' play nice sounding from the start of the plugin.


    PS - I wanna jamming on this with the ibanez m80m
     
  20. LeviathanKiller

    LeviathanKiller Knee-shooting Archer

    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    508
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Deep Southeast

Share This Page