EHX East River Drive

Discussion in 'Gear Reviews' started by EmaDaCuz, Sep 13, 2015.

1. EmaDaCuz

EmaDaCuz Brutal yet soulful

An overdrive is that kind of pedal that every guitarist should own. Well, I have been playing the electric guitar for 21 years and I have never owned one... So it was about time to fill that gap in my pedalboard.

WHAT IS IT?
    The EHX East River Drive (ERD from now on) is, well, a stomp box. It looks splendid, with a spectacular green stylised NY skyline. In the unofficial colour code, green stands for "tube screamer". However, the ERD is something more than a TS clone. And it is not a traditional OD, either.
    It has 3 knobs, DRIVE, TONE, VOL. Nothing new here.
    It is cheap, at around GBP 45 is just a little more expensive than a Digitech or Behringer pedal, and well below the Boss's range. Despite the low price, the box looks sufficiently sturdy, the knobs and the button are very solid and responsive.

HOW DOES IT SOUND
    It sounds different, or at least not like most of the modern pedals. The sound, of course, depends on the use of the pedal. I will split the analysis in 4 cases.

Booster on tube amp - Lead Channel
    Most of the modern guitar players use their OD to boost the signal of the distorted channel and add tightness and have a better lead tone, when necessary. I refer to the usual LEVEL/VOL: 10, GAIN/DRIVE: 0, TONE: 5 setting.
    The ERD works OK, but it is far from transparent and it colours the sound with nice harmonics. The resulting sound is quite compressed and works well for palm muting as well as ringing power chords. Not so good in boosting the lead, though.

Booster on tube amp - Clean Channel