Cheapest way to record Classical guitar?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Crundles, Jan 10, 2019.

1. Crundles

Crundles SS.org Regular

So I've started going to classical guitar lessons.

Apart from getting a very unpleasant reminder of what it is to be a complete beginner on an instrument, I'm finding it really hard to concentrate on both proper posture, playing the right things, and getting a nice, even sound with my right hand on top of it all.

So I figure, why not record myself and hear what is going on. But... how do? I have a yamaha thr10x which I use as an audio interface when recording electric guitar, and presumably if I get a mic, it would need to be either USB, or my yamaha-compatible?

I read through Delcamp's forums, and they seem to agree on a cheapy digital recorder, like these:
    Tascam DR-05 V2 or Zoom h1n

But I also found a Thomann-branded SM57 clone for 31 euro and whatever a The t.bone Ovid System CC 100 is (condenser mic?), which actually sounds pretty good on the Classical guitar audio example on the page.

So... how do?

Thanks!

2. Defyantly

Defyantly SS.org Regular

You have a multitude of different options for this. Mic'ing can be very helpful in the long run and can be used for multiple applications. For this I would go with a decent mic that you like the sound of and get a budget usb interface (also very handy in the long run). Focusrite 2i2 or solo are both solid choices. I have even used a behringer umc202 (I think? the one with 2 inputs) with good results.

Another option is to get either a piezo pickup or acoustic pickup that goes on your guitar and you can plug it in just like an electric. These range from $20 to $100+ just look at reviews so you can get the best thing for your application. Hope this helps.

Also the hand recorders that you mentioned are also nice to have when you don't want to be tethered to your computer.

Crundles likes this.
  3. Drew

Drew Forum MVP