Cheap cheap basses

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by Axe Cop, May 12, 2018.

1. Axe Cop

Axe Cop SS.org Regular

I'm looking to buy a cheap bass for recording. I'm a guitarist and know nothing about basses.

The two I'm looking at are the Ibanez GSR200 and the Yamaha TRBX174. Does anyone have any experience with these or would I be better off saving up a bit more for something like a Peavey Millenium or an Ibanez SR300?

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

3. Axe Cop

Axe Cop SS.org Regular

Unfortunately no. I'm about an hour from anywhere like that and I would hate to burn half a day striking out.

4. Dumple Stilzkin

Dumple Stilzkin Special needs member

Old Ibanez sound gear is what you need, you snag a Japanese made one. It will play and sound really good, for around 300$.

5. johnucol

johnucol New album out now: https://goo.gl/PdPVYh

+1 for old Ibanez basses. I've seen SRX basses fetch for like 200-250 USD (sans shipping if none in your locality), those were good as my first bass, though they were quite heavy.

6. Sollipsist

Sollipsist SS.org Regular

I picked up a Yamaha RBX170 new for under $200 about 15 years ago and it's still doing the job. You could probably find a used one now for $100 or less.

I've recorded countless tracks with this bass. Good neck, good action, decent tuners and bridge. Solid as a rock and flexible sound with the P/J pickups. The pots are a little wobbly, that's about the only negative thing I can say. I've been thinking about replacing the electronics and maybe putting in a set of DiMarzios, but I hate messing with something that works fine.

The low string could use a little more definition, but I'm expecting some improvement with a string change to a slightly higher gauge... right now it still has the strings that were on it when I bought it :D

7. bostjan

bostjan MicroMetal Contributor