Can the Size of Someone's Hands Inhibit Their Ability to Play Guitar?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Mark Lykkos, Jul 26, 2017.

1. Mark Lykkos

Mark Lykkos SS.org Regular

Hi everyone! This is probably the dumbest question ever for this forum (even though "any question is good here" LOL) but I've been making very slow progress on acoustic guitar for probably five years, and I keep having the thought that what if my hands are too small for playing guitar?

I'm hoping that maybe I just need to stretch them more and eventually things will fall into place, but I don't wanna be fighting biology.

Is the "hands too small" thing just a myth or is there some merit to it? I'd really like to play acoustic with some proficiency. Thanks everyone!

2. synrgy

synrgy Ya ya ya I am Lorde

To a certain extent, it can matter, but that doesn't necessarily mean that it does matter.

Do be careful about 'fighting biology'. I lost roughly 40% of my left hand's usability somewhere between my late 20's and early 30's due to severe cubital tunnel syndrome. As such, I can't stress enough that you'll want to take care of your hands. I did a lot of stretching when I was younger and playing all the time, based on some shit I saw in a Michael Manring home video tape (VHS, lol, get off my lawn!), but somewhere along the way I just stopped. Between guitar, and typing, and video gaming, I was nearly always using my hands/arms/elbows/shoulders 'incorrectly', and I now know that I'll be paying for that for the rest of my life - even after having surgery to correct the problem. So, word of warning, is all I'm saying. Stretch, but not too beyond your limits, and if something starts to hurt, stop right away and properly rest until it doesn't hurt any more.