Building two headless 8-string guitars (pic heavy..)

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by j3ps3, Feb 5, 2018.

1. j3ps3

j3ps3 SS.org Regular

I'm gonna start up by telling a little bit about myself and my builds. I'm currently studying guitar building at the only lutherie school here in Finland and as my thesis I've decided to build two 8-string guitars. It's a 2 year school and so far I've done four instruments, which I'll include pictures of here too, as most of us enjoy the pr0n.

The first guitar which I (ever) built, was a Telecaster with a few modifications and I think it took me about three months to finish. It has alder body with maple neck (carbon fibre reinforcements, 25,5" scale) and ebony fretboard. The body and neck is finished with oil. Never included a neck pickup, but routed room for one anyway.

[​IMG]

As my second build I wanted to make something special for myself. I liked the idea of Wes Borland using a 4-string guitar tuned to F#-F#-B-E, because when I try to write with an 8-string, for example, it's fairly slow process because of all the different options with octaves. I find myself trying multiple different solutions, which isn't a bad thing, but it's slower. With an 4-string there isn't that much range so you'll just have to rely on the right notes. So it kinda simplifies things for me when writing, if that makes sense. This one has alder body with maple neck (carbon fibre here too. I've used it with all my builds) and pao ferro fretboard. The scale is 30" long and the bridge is some cigar box guitar bridge which I ordered from China :D