Bass guitar and amp recommendations

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by KD0991, Sep 18, 2018.

1. KD0991

KD0991 SS.org Regular

Looking for opinions on a bass rig. I'm a guitarist, but would like to have a bass around too for when friends come over that play bass and for me to mess around with too.

Needs to be able to keep up with my EVH 5150 III 50W into a 2x12.

Something versatile as well for rock, metal, blues, punk, funk, country.

Looking at a budget of around $700 for a bass and an amp.

Been looking at squier vintage modified 70s jazz, squier vintage modified precision pj, sterling Ray's, ibanez SR for basses.

For amps been looking at fender rumble, ampeg, peavey max. Just dont know how many watts I need to keep up with my 50w tube amp. I've been told between 2-4x the wattage.

Let me know your opinions/experiences/recommendations.

2. A-Branger

A-Branger SS.org Regular

I would go with Ampeg, only becasue I love them

TBH go to a store and try them all. All of those basses can do the styles of music that you want, basses are more versatile than guitars. There no a "humbucker for metal, single coil for cleans" kinda rule. But in htere you got the 4 main pickup configurations JJ PJ MM Humbucker. What sound you want its up to go, go and try them, thye all sound different and would react different to a pick or finger or slap

Same with the amp. Narrow it down to a few you want, then go and try them. For a while I was almost set on a Warwick amp, until the day I try it and I end up like "uhg, this is it?...... nope" it was so quiet for a decent sized amp

after you try stuff around, then go online and search those for second hand, as with that budget not sure if you could get both, specially a big enough amp

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/de...-1x15-inch-150-watt-bass-combo-with-scrambler