7 string noob – go 26.5 KM7 or play it safe with a 25.5 Ibby?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by McDuffed, Aug 25, 2017.

1. McDuffed

McDuffed SS.org Regular

Hi Folks,

Relatively straight forward noob question I think. I’m looking at making the jump into the 7 string domain. I’ve found a few relevant threads but nothing that is entirely on point.

I’ve been playing for over 20 years, including gigging for a while many moons ago. I know my gear pretty well. I’ve owed lots of guitars and currently have 9 – all 6 strings – and have a pretty solid idea of what I like in a guitar at this point. It’s fair to say that I’ve been pretty timid on the down tuning front and have tended not to venture below dropped D; though I recently took one of my guitars and set it up for C standard (on a 25.5 scale) with some pretty heavy strings (12-56 with a wound G string because it wouldn’t work with a plain one). In short: I’ve been digging it quite a bit and think it’s time to make the jump to seven.

As I’m testing the water here, I’m not looking to throw a ton of money at this; but I do want a reasonably good guitar. Could go up to $1,000, and the used market seems the way to go. Having done a bit of research the Schecter KM7 looks like a really good option and checks all the boxes that I like (hard tail, ebony board, stainless frets, locking tuners etc.) . With that said, though I was initially fine with the idea of a 26.5 scale, once I took a look on reverb.com, I couldn’t help but notice that there is an unusually large amount of KM7s on there. This got me a little paranoid and thinking that these must all be people who tried the 7 string thing, got themselves a KM7, and promptly gave up on it. I’ve seen a bunch of reviews and owned a couple of guitars out of World Instruments and don’t think it’s a crap quality guitar (by all means correct me if I’m wrong).